The Rainy Season

  • by James P. Blaylock
  • Narrated by Christopher Ragland
  • 10 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Grieving over his wife's death, Phil Ainsworth is further shaken by his sister's death and the arrival of his niece Betsy, a child who hears the voices of the dead and sees the forces closing in around the old house he has inherited from his mother.


What the Critics Say

"Blaylock allows us to see the mundane world through new eyes, to perceive the familar as strange and therefore fascinating - for what it is as well as for what it might be." (Charles de Lint)
"The central conceit of this elegant, accomplished contemporary ghost story is that fuentes - springs in which children have been ritually drowned - are portals of inexact time travel. Ambitious plotting and characterization augment Blaylock's (Winter Tides) lush language (ripples in a well 'cast a hundred shifting shadows... crisscrossing in geometric confusion'). This is one ghostly tale that stands on very solid ground." (Publishers Weekly)
"[A] seamlessly produced... intriguing and absorbing work from a major talent." (Kirkus)
"Refreshing natural lunacy. Blaylock is a true American original." (Bruce Sterling)
"Blaylock continues to extend his range, this time with a novel of quiet - but not entirely psychological - horror. Blaylock constructs what might be described as a leisurely page-turner: one wants to find out what comes next but doesn't feel compelled to rush onward to do so. Fans of horror in general--especially those who don't demand a high body count--as well as dedicated Blaylock fans will be well pleased." (Booklist)
"The author of Winter Tides continues to display an uncanny talent for low-key, off-kilter drama, infusing the modern world with a supernatural tint. Blaylock's evocative prose and studied pacing make him one of the most distinctive contributors to American magical realism. Recommended for most libraries." (Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 31-03-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios