The Summer That Melted Everything

  • by Tiffany McDaniel
  • Narrated by Roger Davis
  • 13 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When local prosecutor Autopsy Bliss publishes an invitation to the devil to come to the heatwave-scorched town of Breathed, Ohio, nobody expects that he will turn up, especially as a tattered 13-year-old boy.
Fielding, the son of Autopsy, brings the boy home, and he is welcomed into the family. The Blisses believe the boy, who calls himself Sal, is a runaway. Then, as a series of strange incidents implicate Sal, the townsfolk begin to believe that Sal is exactly who he claims to be....


What the Critics Say

"A wonderfully original, profoundly unsettling, deeply moving novel that delivers both the shock of fully realized reality and the deep resonance of parable." (Robert Olen Butler, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Good Scent From a Strange Mountain)
"Imagine To Kill a Mockingbird, seen through the eyes of Neil Gaiman. McDaniel's prose is rich and magical, full of passages of exquisite, strange beauty that ache with bitter truths and old sorrows." (James Sie, author of Still Life Las Vegas)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The devil to get into......

The premise of a story about a young boy who may or may not be Lucifer is an attractive one, however this piece of overblown American fantasy gothic is not the vehicle to convey it. I was perturbed on first hearing the narrator's gnarly old man hillbilly delivery but I stuck with this for a few boring chapters before finally throwing the towel in. I read that it gets better, but I simply don't have the willpower.
Read full review

- Kaggy

interesting concept but not delivered on.

book was slow and although interesting in parts overall pretty boring. struggled with it in case it got better, then I had listened to too much not to see it through, but it did not get better. I will remember bits but I would not recommend.
Read full review

- Jay

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-08-2016
  • Publisher: Wholestory Audiobooks