The Truth : Discworld

  • by Terry Pratchett
  • Narrated by Stephen Briggs
  • Series: Discworld
  • 10 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

William de Worde is the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper. Now he must cope with the traditional perils of a journalist's life - people who want him dead, a recovering vampire with a suicidal fascination for flash photography, some more people who want him dead in a different way and, worst of all, the man who keeps begging him to publish pictures of his humorously shaped potatoes.William just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition...
This is the 25th volume in the Discworld series.
Please note:This is a vintage recording. The audio quality may not be up to modern day standards

More

What the Critics Say

"Pratchett's brand of humor has intelligence and satiric relevance...he has much to say about the world." (Publishers Weekly)
"Unadulterated fun...Witty, frequently hilarious." (San Francisco Chronicle)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Pratchett in top form

I am a fan of Terry Pratchett novels and am amazed at how prolific he is while maintaining the quality of his output. This is one of his better recent efforts. Pratchett's books always have one or two inspired comic ideas and this one is no exception. It is worth reading for the vampire photographer with flash-photography issues alone. Well worth a listen if you like quirky humour in the vein of Douglas Adams and Robert Rankin.
Read full review

- Martin

In the unlikely event you've never read Pratchett

I wasn't going to review Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, simply because he is such a well known author that everyone already knows that this book, like all the Discworld books, will be funny, imaginative and have everything you want in it to keep you coming back and re-reading year after year. Most Audible listeners also know that all the main narrators that read Pratchett's books (Stephen Briggs, Nigel Planer and Tony Robinson) are all amazing, bringing the book and it's characters to life in a way that earns their five star reviews.

If you are actually a new listener on the other-hand this might really help.

Firstly despite the order they were written in my suggestion would be to start with the guards series. Pratchett has developed a complicated world with several in jokes and this is an easy way to enter it, as the books introduce the reader to the main city from which much of the action takes place. The guards series is arguably one of the most popular and after the first book has a strong cast of both male and female characters. I should warn that some of the other series' books are set before the events in the Watch novels but I still found this the most accessible way, into this vast fictional world.

The order of the guards books are Guards Guards, Men at Arms, Feet Of Clay, Jingo, The Fifth Elephant, Night watch, Thud and Snuff (there are also spin off books that are mentioned in the series). From there you can either start reading the witches novels if you prefer female leads, Rincewind if you prefer male or stay in the city with some of what are often refer to as the `industrial' novels like The Truth, Going Postal and Making Money. Guides to reading order can easily be found on the net if you don't want to go by publication date.

I would also think twice before buying the abridged versions. Tony Robinson as a narrator is brilliant but so are the other narrators and a lot of the plot and humor is cut to fit so much into such a short time. I've listened to most of them and I'd personally go with unabridged every time.
Read full review

- nicole

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-07-2007
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks