The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor : Walking Dead

  • by Robert Kirkman, Jay Bonansinga
  • Narrated by Fred Berman
  • Series: Walking Dead
  • 10 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Following in the footsteps of the New York Times best-selling graphic novels and the record-breaking new television show, this debut novel in a trilogy of original Walking Dead books chronicles the back story of the comic book series' greatest villain, The Governor.
In the Walking Dead universe, there is no greater villain than The Governor. The despot who runs the walled-off town of Woodbury, he has his own sick sense of justice: whether it’s forcing prisoners to battle zombies in an arena for the townspeople’s amusement, or chopping off the appendages of those who cross him. The Governor was voted “Villain of the Year” by Wizard magazine the year he debuted, and his story arc was the most controversial arc in the history of The Walking Dead comic book series. Now, for the first time, fans of The Walking Dead will discover how The Governor became the man he is, and what drove him to such extremes.


What the Critics Say

“If the comic book writer Robert Kirkman were a superhero, his name might be the Midas Touch.” ( The New York Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fantastic book, performed really well, recommended

Would you consider the audio edition of The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor to be better than the print version?

I havent read the print version but the performance for me really added to the story so I would expect the audio edition to be better than the print version.

What did you like best about this story?

Some pretty dark areas are covered within the story which were really insightful and added a great deal to the background of the walking dead series.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

When the group were in Atlanta, I wont go into more detail as to avoid spoilers .

Read full review

- Ben

A must read or listen!

Loved Fred Berman's narration and the book itself is great. I can not wait for the 2nd book.
Read full review

- Mrs. Marixsa Watson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-10-2011
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio