The Wee Free Men : Discworld - for Kids

  • by Terry Pratchett
  • Narrated by Stephen Briggs
  • Series: Discworld - for Kids
  • 7 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Up on the chalk downs they call The Wold, witches are banned - ever since the Baron's son vanished in the woods. Anyway, as all witches know, chalk's no good for magic.
Nine-year-old Tiffany Aching thinks her Granny Aching - a wise shepherd - might have been a witch, but now Granny Aching is dead, and it's up to Tiffany to work it all out when strange things begin happening: a fairy-tale monster in the stream, a headless horseman, and, strangest of all, the tiny blue men in kilts, the Wee Free Men, who have come looking for the new 'hag'. These are the Nac Mac Feegles, the pictsies, who like nothing better than thievin', fightin' and drinkin'.
Then Tiffany's young brother goes missing and Tiffany and the Wee Free Men must join forces to save him from the Queen of the Fairies.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well worth a listen

Great plot, links well with favourites from the main Discword novels, all ages should enjoy. The narration by Stephen Briggs is excellent, looking forward to the sequels.
Read full review

- Richard

Great fun - and wise too

I discovered the Tiffany Aching series when I was nearly 60, and couldn't imagine why it was classified as a children's book. It is so complex and layered and hilarious and wise - I recommend to any adult who is still able to suspend disbelief and dive into a world of imagination. But children also love it. I just listened to the audiobook with my 9 year old grandson who grinned during nearly every paragraph and often squealed with delight. Didn't bother him in the least that the hero is a girl - although I suspect that may keep it off the list of books recommended for boys. My husband (nearly 70 and doesn't usually like fantasy) also listened and loved it for its wisdom, humour and complexity - and the absolutely fabulous reader.
Read full review

- Karen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-07-2010
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks