From the critically acclaimed author of Prince of Fools comes the third volume of the brilliant new epic fantasy series The Red Queen's War.
All the horrors of hell stand between Snorri Ver Snagason and the rescue of his family, if indeed the dead can be rescued.
For Jalan Kendeth, getting back out alive and with Loki's Key is all that matters. Loki's creation can open any lock, any door, and it may also be the key to Jal's fortune back in the living world. Jal plans to return to the three Ws that have been the core of his idle and debauched life: wine, women, and wagering.
Fate, however, has other larger plans....
The Wheel of Osheim is turning ever faster, and it will crack the world unless it's stopped. When the end of all things looms and there's nowhere to run, even the worst coward must find new answers. Jal and Snorri face many dangers - from the corpse hordes of the Dead King to the many mirrors of the Lady Blue - but in the end, fast or slow, the Wheel of Osheim will exert its power. In the end it's win or die.
©2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited; 2016 Mark Lawrence
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"There are special rewards in store here for readers of the Broken Empire series. Highly recommended." (Robin Hobb)
"Mark Lawrence is the best thing to happen to fantasy in recent years." (Peter V. Brett)
"Marks an unbroken and steady ascent to the top of my favourite-fantasy pile. Lawrence gets better with each book he writes." (Myke Cole)
"Reminds me of when I first discovered Gemmell and Hobb and I can't wait for the next instalment." (David Chadwick)
"The brisk adventure and black magic will leave readers eager for the next chapter in the series." ( Publishers Weekly)
"Lawrence improves with every book he writes and if he keeps on like this, we may have to turn the ratings system up to eleven. Magnificent, and highly recommended." ( Starburst Magazine)
"Mark Lawrence should be commended on another excellent book of The Red Queen's War trilogy that gives enough information to make the reader want more." ( Impulse Gamer)
"The dialogue is a humorous, frightening lullaby that flawlessly depicts this dark, disturbing universe and its meticulously constructed characters, both friends and fiends." ( RT Book Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £18.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Debbie Mullen on 05-06-16

Mark Lawerence master at writing

Sean Ohlendorf master of telling .Absolutely loved the whole series. Well written well spoken

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By smallblackflowers on 08-04-18

A great story really well read

I have enjoyed the narration and characterisation given by this audio book so very much.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By MattBowers on 14-05-17

Loved it!

This was an excellent and fitting end to the series. Yet again Mark weaves a magical mix of humor, action and suspense. It definitely doesn't disappoint.

Read more Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Matthew on 04-07-16

solid conclusion

Great series and tied in nicely with the Broken Empire trilogy. I'll definitely be doing a reread of the entire series soon.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews