The White Mountains : Tripods

  • by John Christopher
  • Narrated by William Gaminara
  • Series: Tripods
  • 4 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the first book of John Christopher's classic series, it is the year 2100, and the world is controlled by the machines called Tripods. Life goes on largely as it had in the pre-industrial era, as all of humanity is subject to mental controls that prevent anyone from challenging the established order.
Will, a 13-year-old living in the small English village of Wherton, is looking forward to the transition to adulthood, which will take place on the next "Capping Day" - until a chance meeting with a mysterious Vagrant named Ozymandias sends him on a quest to discover a world beyond the Tripods' control.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is the first book in the ?Tripods? trilogy. The tripods (for those who don?t remember the BBC series) are large, three-legged creatures who have invaded earth and enslaved mankind. White Mountains is the story of a young boy called Will and various other humans who make a dangerous journey across the ?white mountains?, in order to make a stand against the tripods. It?s a great yarn, which I think younger Sci-Fi fans would probably also enjoy.
Read full review

- Anjum

Saw the TV programme as a kid in 80's

Would you listen to The White Mountains again? Why?

I would listen to this book again, fantastic story, timeless sci-fiction oddly comforting given the nature of the story.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Will stands out at first, but I think overall Beanpole as I personally identify with the character.

What does William Gaminara bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Beautifully told by William Gaminara, characterisation was spot on, and let the story paint it own picture wonderfully easily in your imagination.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

We all need our freedom

Read full review

- karl

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-03-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios