To Light a Candle : Obsidian Trilogy

  • by James Mallory, Mercedes Lackey
  • Narrated by Susan Ericksen
  • Series: Obsidian Trilogy
  • 34 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

To his own surprise, young Kellen, once the disappointing son of the great Mage who leads the City’s Mage Council, has become a powerful Knight-Mage. Valued for his bravery and his skills as both wizard and warrior, Kellen joins the Elves' war councils. Yet he cannot convince the City of his birth that it is in terrible danger.
Kellen’s sister Idalia, a Wild Mage with great healing ability, has pledged her heart to Jermayan, a proud Elven warrior. Someday Idalia will pay a tragic price for a world-saving work of Wild Magic, but until then, she will claim any joy life can offer her.
Jermayan, who has learned much fighting at Kellen's side and loving the human Idalia, finds that everything changes when he bonds with a dragon while rescuing the Elf Prince and becomes the first Elven Mage in a thousand years. Furious at her enemies' success with the dragon, the Demon Queen attacks in force. Light struggles against Dark, like flickering candle flames buried deep in the shadow of Obsidian Mountain.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is a perfect sequel to the first book. Mercedes Lacky and James Mallory have pulled out the stops on this one, the character progression and the story build up kept me listning for hours on end.
This is a seriously good step up in quality from the first book as you can tell the authors are really getting in to the swing of the story, which is engaging right from the start as it starts off exactly where the first one ended, and leaves you once again on a cliffhanger at the end.
The narrator is clear and precise, i cannot fault Susan Ericksen she does a great job of bringing the story to life.

Highly reccomended to fans of the fantasy genre.
Read full review

- Ooshga

The story does get going eventually

half of the first chapter is a copy of the last chapter of book 1; to me this is both insulting to the intelligence of the reader and pure laziness by the author. Although the story does get better, the constant repetition of themes is annoying.
Read full review

- Paul

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-06-2010
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio