• by Orson Scott Card
  • Narrated by Stefan Rudnicki
  • 10 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Lanik Mueller is a "rad" - radical regenerative - a freak who can regenerate injured flesh...and trade extra body parts to the Offworld oppressors for iron. On a planet without hard metals, or the means of escape, iron offers the promise of freedom through the chance to build a spacecraft. But it is a promise which may never be fulfilled, as Lanik uncovers a treacherous conspiracy beyond his imagination. Now charged with a mission of conquest - and exile - Lanik devises a bold and dangerous plan to finally break the vicious chain of rivalry and bloodshed that enslaves the people of the planet Treason.


What the Critics Say

"Card provides a colorful dramatization of ethical issues and questions of identity against a backdrop of bizarrely fascinating races." ( Publishers Weekly)
"Exemplifies Card's talent for creating disturbingly compelling, beautifully written stories." ( Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A surprisingly good story, it just gets better and better

This review is based on Audible’s recording.

Gradually, as I listened to more and more of this novel, my opinion of it rose. It really is very good, maybe even almost as good as Ender’s Game. Written in the first person, what begins as a fairly banal sci-fi space opera set in a somewhat fantastical world deepens and matures. All is not as it seems, with twist after twist until the end, and the story ultimately becomes the journey of one man to adulthood and self-understanding. A fascinating and pleasant tale.
Read full review

- C. G. Fogelberg

Classic sci fi

Classic sci fi in the vein of Asimov and Heinlein. A story about the human condition rather than a space opera
Read full review

- Murray

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-09-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.