• by Philip K. Dick
  • Narrated by Luke Daniels
  • 7 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A mind-bending, classic Philip K. Dick novel about the perception of reality.
Named as one of Time's 100 best books.
Glen Runciter runs a lucrative business - deploying his teams of anti-psychics to corporate clients who want privacy and security from psychic spies. But when he and his top team are ambushed by a rival, he is gravely injured and placed in "half-life," a dreamlike state of suspended animation. Soon, though, the surviving members of the team begin experiencing some strange phenomena, such as Runciter's face appearing on coins and the world seeming to move backward in time. As consumables deteriorate and technology gets ever more primitive, the group needs to find out what is causing the shifts and what a mysterious product called Ubik has to do with it all.


What the Critics Say

"From the stuff of space opera, Dick spins a deeply unsettling existential horror story, a nightmare you'll never be sure you've woken up from." (Lev Grossman, Time)
"More brilliant than similar experiments conducted by Pynchon or DeLillo." (Roberto Bolaño)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very enjoyable

I cant call this a furious page turner (or ear flapper as it was audiobook?) but it was a good read. As with most pkd it didnt seem groundbreaking (anymore) but not without any weight or relevance, like all great sci-fi seems to transcend generations long after publish.

Some seem to see greater meanings or questions in this story and I can understand that if your looking for it but for me it was simply a very enjoyable story of easy digestion that passed from start to finish in just the right length to feel complete.

A welcome rest from aliens, spaceships, time travel, vampires, werewolves and magicians.
Read full review

- Mr. J. Forsyth

a wild imaginative ride!

constantly keeps you guessing, a crazy amazing story! brilliantly narrated and a seminal piece of sci-fi!
Read full review

- Antonio Konitsiotis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-04-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio