Veiled : Alex Verus

  • by Benedict Jacka
  • Narrated by Gildart Jackson
  • Series: Alex Verus
  • 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Alex Verus is a mage who can see the future, but even he couldn't have seen this day coming. Alex has agreed to join the Keepers, the magical police force, to protect his friends from his old master, the Dark mage Richard Drakh.
Going legit was always going to be difficult for an outcast like Alex, and there are those in the Keepers who aren't keen to see an ex-Dark mage succeed. Especially when Dark mages are making a play for a seat on the council for the first time in history.
Alex finally has the law on his side - but trapped between Light and Dark politics, investigating a seedy underworld with ties to the highest of powers, will a badge be enough to save him?


What the Critics Say

"Fated is an excellent novel, a gorgeously realised world with a uniquely powerful, vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the storytelling business in the first place." (Jim Butcher on Fated)
"Jacka puts other urban fantasists to shame.... A stellar blend of thoughtful philosophy and explosive action." (Publishers Weekly on Chosen)
"Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list." (Jim Butcher, author of the Dresden Files)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Can't wait for next book

The series has been excellent and I've enjoyed every book. Complex plots, endless twists and turns, and believable characters in spite of being (contemporary) magicians.
Read full review

- Kathie

Develops the plot and sets up further sequels

This is a good middle-of-the-series book and develops the characters and relationships in interesting ways.

The narration is expressive and engaging which I enjoyed, though I'm not sure about Luna's accent!

In summary - good fun!
Read full review

- Ray

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-08-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK