Wake Up And Dream

  • by Ian R MacLeod
  • Narrated by Jeff Harding
  • 12 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hollywood, 1940. It’s the Golden Age of the Feelies. All one-time actor and unlicensed matrimonial private eye Clark Gable has to do is impersonate a wealthy scriptwriter for a few hours, and sign the contract for the biopic of the inventor of a device which has changed entertainment forever. What could go wrong? Already, he’s seeing ghosts — but that’s nothing unusual. Europe is devastated by war and America is sleep-walking into Fascism — but what’s that got to do with him? By turns wry and romantic, but always gripping, multi-award winning writer Ian R MacLeod’s latest novel is a dazzling collision of science, fantasy and history. Like the feelies themselves, Wake Up and Dream is film noir with Technicolor wraiths.


What the Critics Say

"MacLeod expertly hits all the hard-boiled beats, delivering the creepy, fascinating, strange, and wholly enjoyable story with a noir melancholy, a keen eye for detail, and plenty of snappy dialogue." (Publisher's Weekly)
"Set in an antisemitic US drifting towards collusion with Nazi Germany, Wake Up and Dream slowly picks at the artifice of Hollywood to reveal its morally rotten core. MacLeod won the Arthur C Clarke award in 2009, and on the strength of this novel should do so again." (The Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good, but not quite what it could have been

Set in an interesting alternative reality, this book had me fascinated with how many of the people and details were "real" and what was pure fiction - and I ended up doing some research on some of the characters. The story is a good one and fairly gripping all the way through, but the ending is a little disappointing.

I found the the American accent of the narrator quite annoying to start with, but as the book progresses I realised that it actually suited the setting and the characters quite well. Worth a listen.
Read full review

- Stuart

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-11-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios