• Water Sleeps

  • Chronicles of the Black Company, Book 8
  • By: Glen Cook
  • Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews
  • Series: Black Company, Book 8
  • Length: 18 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 31-08-10
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Audible Studios
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.5 (25 ratings)


For years, Glen Cook's Black Company series has built a major audience among fantasy fans. Told from the "worm's-eye" view of the soldiers and functionaries who fight in the trenches of vast sorceress wars, this epic has riveted a generation of readers. If the Joseph Heller of Catch-22 were to tell the story of The Lord of the Rings, it might read like the Black Company books. There is nothing else in fantasy like them. Now Cook brings the latest cycle of the Black Company saga to a major climax, as the survivors of the disaster at the end of She is Darkness regroup in Taglios. Determined to free their fellow warriors held in stasis beneath the glittering plain, they journey there under terrible conditions, arriving just in time for a magical conflagration in which the bones of the world will be revealed, the history of the Company unveiled, and new worlds gained and lost...all at a major price. Wry, tough-minded, brilliantly imagined, and told with enormous flair, Water Sleeps is Glen Cook at the top of his game.
©1999 Glen Cook (P)2010 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £23.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £23.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Martin on 10-04-15

Back to form

I very much enjoyed Water Sleeps after not quite the same enthusiasm for Bleak Seasons and She is the Darkness. It is not the best paced story but it generally rattles along and builds out significantly the Company, Kina and Glittering Plain back stories.

There is some good character building - we learn much more about some former bit part players (not least because one is the annalist).

While some new characters come to centre stage there is a sense throughout that others are lining up for their final curtain call.

It could have been an ending - but it isn't - and it sets things up nicely for the last book.

Good narration.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By james on 27-08-13

Fantastically Narrated

It had been a while since I had read the Black Company series, and this audible re-introduction was a pure delight. McLeod Andrews is one of the best narrators I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. The sheer dexterity of his voice allowed the diverse characters to fully come to life in this tale.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Bruce on 04-03-13


little drawn out but i still love the characters. was interesting to see how the group stays the same even when there is only one original member from the first story.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews