His name is Nathan Garrett, but he’s also known as Hellequin. And murdering one of his friends and trying to blow him up is a good way to get this centuries-old sorcerer’s full attention… An old friend’s dead body, a cryptic note, and an explosion that almost costs him his own life propel Nate headfirst into a mystery involving a new threat from an old foe. Now he must piece together the connections between a grisly series of tattooed murder victims, an imprisoned madman, a mysterious alchemist, and a deranged plot to usurp the throne of the hidden realm of Shadow Falls, rival to the power of Avalon.
Can Nate avert the coming slaughter, or will he become the latest to fall in this clandestine war?
With the story careening between modern-day New York and Ontario and 1977 Maine, With Silent Screams continues the gritty and action-packed mix of urban fantasy and ancient mythology that mark Steve McHugh’s popular Hellequin Chronicles.
©2014 Steve McHugh (P)2013 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £9.89

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £9.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By PJ Flockton on 30-06-14

Enjoyable series

Would you consider the audio edition of With Silent Screams to be better than the print version?

Never read the print version, don't have time for text :)

What did you like best about this story?

I was a little dubious about listening to this series at first, the story seemed quite simplistic then BOOM! I was hooked. The characters are interesting, and at times you are left wanting more and more. I'd recommend this series to anyone looking for something a little different.

Did James Langton do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

Yeah - didn't forget a voice style for anyone, he seems to get better as the books go on. No over acting as you find with some books on audible

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Humorous at times, no tears but you want him to kick some backsides and he REALLY does!

Any additional comments?

This series is well worth the time. I hope you enjoy.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Steve on 07-03-18


Excellent book however the first two were more gripping. Still epic and I love this series.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Cliff on 24-02-14

Action, Adventure, wizards and even trolls!

This is the third book in the Hellequin series by Steve McHugh. This is a tightly written, action filled novel. The story hits the ground running and doesn't let up until the end. With Silent Screams is a stand-alone novel but will mean more if you have read the previous books first.

As with the other novels, this book moves between the current time and an event in the past related to the current issue. Think highlander but with wizards. It is easy to like the main character and there is enough mystery about him to keep you engrossed throughout the story. He's definitely a guy you'd like to buy a beer and listen to his stories. The magic system, while a bit vague, is fun, structured and makes sense in it's own way.

James langston performs this story and does an admirable job. Admittedly, he took a bit of getting used to, but by the third book it is like revisiting an old friend. I was eagerly awaiting this novel and Mr. McHugh definitely did not dissappoint. If you are fans of urban fantasy series like Dresden Files, Iron Druid, Alex Versus or Peter Grant you will enjoy this one as well.

Please note that for the most part this one is friendly to younger readers but he does throw in a sex scene or two that may be deemed too explicit for younger listeners.

Read more Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Brynjulfur on 22-07-14

when comes the next book ! ?

Would you listen to With Silent Screams again? Why?

yes... I would listen to all the series again... especially to refresh for a new book.

Any additional comments?

I have withdrawal syndroms... I really want to know more ;)

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews