You Die When You Die : West of West

  • by Angus Watson
  • Narrated by Sean Barrett
  • Series: West of West
  • 14 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

You die when you die....
You can't change your fate - so throw yourself into battle, because you'll end the day either a hero or drinking mead in the halls of the gods. That's what Finn's tribe believe. But Finn wants to live. When his settlement is massacred by a hostile tribe, Finn plus several friends and rivals must make their escape across a brutal, unfamiliar landscape, and to survive, Finn will fight harder than he's ever fought before.
The David Gemmell Award-nominated author of Age of Iron returns with You Die When You Die - an epic fantasy adventure in which a mismatched group of refugees battle animals and monsters, determined assassins, an unforgiving land and each other as they cross a continent to fulfil a prophecy.


What the Critics Say

"Unflinchingly bloodthirsty and outrageously entertaining." (Christopher Brookmyre on Age of Iron)
"Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on!" (SF Crowsnest on Age of Iron)
"It simply grabbed me by the throat and wouldn't let go." (BIBLIOSANCTUM on Age of Iron)
"A fun and addictive read." (Fantasy Faction on Age of Iron)
"Watson's tale is gore-soaked and profanity-laden - full of visceral combat and earthy humour, and laced with subtle magic." (Publishers Weekly on Age of Iron)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great book.

Author is brilliant. I don't often take time to write a review and I've read a LOT of books, this author is my favourite. I feel very lucky to have stumbled upon him by accident with the Age of Iron series. Age of Iron is by far the best book I've ever read, but this is also a great read. The characters are well developed, they are endearing, (even the evil ones) and the author is a master at making the funny ones funny, particularly little girls. I'm waiting patiently for the next book now and I'll listen to this one again straight away.
Angus Watson, if you ever read this, thanks for putting pen to paper. You big badgers bollock.
Read full review

- Richard Browne

Angus! Angus! Angus!

During my formative years I remember fans at an AC/DC concert chanting “Angus, Angus, Angus” in homage to their guitar hero as he strutted his stuff on stage. While AC/DC weren’t huge favourites of mine I always remember the warmth, affection and excitement pouring off the crowd for their man. Well that came back to me as I listened to Angus Watson’s first trilogy, “Age of iron” not so long ago. He drew the crowd in with an excellent opener, crossed the tricky minefield of keeping it going in the second book and rounded it off with a thudding wallop of a closer. And now he’s at it again!

You Die When You Die is a genuine fantasy series but once more Watson has based it loosely on real geography and history. This time it’s some Vikings in the Americas of all things! In terms of plot it’s also a long way from the “Iron” books. Our “hero” is Finn and he’s no Gus that’s for sure. He and some friends are forced on an epic journey pursued by the fantasy equivalent of Charlie’s Hell's Angels and running into all kinds of different tribes and problems along the way.

That said, this delivers in very firmly in the same style as the Age of Iron series. Great fun characters who are defined as much by their failings as their strengths or mighty deeds. Watson delivers their inner child with great aplomb and for anyone who worries about such things much swearing. There’s a strong argument that it is reminiscent of Abercrombie but I think maybe now we should avoid such comparisons because Watson is forging a style of his own.

This is an author delivering my kind of contemporary fantasy with a narrator who is definitely up there near the top. So, go on shell out a credit for this one and join me chanting “Angus, Angus, Angus” as messrs Watson and Barret take us on another great ride!
Read full review

- Simon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-06-2017
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK