• Seven Ancient Wonders

  • Jack West Junior, Book 1
  • By: Matthew Reilly
  • Narrated by: Sean Mangan
  • Series: Jack West Jr., Book 1
  • Length: 12 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 31-10-08
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.4 (124 ratings)

Summary

Thousands of years ago, a magnificent golden capstone sat atop the Great Pyramid of Giza. It was a source of immense power, capable of bestowing upon its holder absolute global rule for a thousand years...But then, in 323 BC, the capstone was broken into seven pieces and spread to the corners of the Earth, hidden within the Seven Ancient Wonders of the World. Now, with the coming of a rare solar event, the time has come to locate the pieces and rebuild the capstone.
©2008 Matthew Reilly (P)2008 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd.
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"A nonstop roller-coaster ride that lurches around the globe." ( Publishers Weekly)
"A novel that grabs readers by the hand and pulls them along until they're out of breath. It is impossible (even for hard-core cynics) not to love this big, boisterous, action-filled adventure." ( Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £16.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £16.09

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By anthony on 08-11-16

Great.

This book is a great start to what is going to be an amazing series and i'm so glad that I have the next 3 lined up to listen to. This is a pure adrenaline fuelled action packed ride. If you are a fan of chris kuzneski then you are going to so enjoy matthew reilly. This was a very good narration. I'm of to start listening to the next in the series.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Sue on 21-08-17

Entertaining Preposterous Stuff

What can I say?
I may not be the target audience for this.
It runs like a computer game inspired by Indiana Jones and Dan Brown.
The pace is relentless as the team races around the world rescuing treasure in a period of 7 days.
The history is interesting, although questionable, but I do feel inspired to go away and read up on it.
It kept me entertained in the same way a film like National Treasure does. It's undemanding but fun.
I doubt I'll bother with the rest of the series but who knows, I might need a bit of Boys Own rip-roaring escapism on a winter's day one day.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By James on 29-07-14

Indiana Jones and The Da Vinci Code

Seven Ancient Wonders is Indiana Jones and The Da Vinci Code all rolled into one. A great action adventure story and better than the Scarecrow novels. Sean Mangan gives an excellent performance and the characters are awesome. Fans of Harry Potter, Dan Brown and the Indiana Jones movies should enjoy reading and listening to Seven Ancient Wonders by Matthew Reilly.

Read more Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Dillon on 01-01-13

Would definitely recommend

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would recommend this to a friend. Matthew Reilly is an amazing author.

What other book might you compare Seven Ancient Wonders to and why?

I would compare this book to the other series written by Matthew Reilly, Scarecrow. They are the same yet completely different.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

The narration was good until Sky Monster spoke. Sky Monster is a New Zealander however the voice used was an Australian accent. This is similar to using a Canadian accent when voicing an American and vice versa. Apart from this one slight flaw the narrator did a great job.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes I feel this way about all the books Matthew Reilly writes.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews