Grown at Glen Garden

  • by Jeff Miller
  • Narrated by Liam O'Brien
  • 7 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Learn about these golf legends as they were learning to master the game on their home turf.
In Grown at Glen Garden, the early friendship of Ben Hogan and Byron Nelson is shown, from their caddying days at Glen Garden Country Club to their chummy rivalry at the Masters decades later. With a peek at their family backgrounds, the story shows both the hardships and joys of growing up and learning to golf in Fort Worth, Texas, in the 1920s.
The two golf pros were not alike in personality; Hogan was always a quiet and private person, whereas Nelson had a reputation for being very friendly and open. Hogan and Nelson grew close due to their shared passion for golf, their later professional careers, and the friendship between their wives, Valerie Hogan and Louise Nelson. Today, Hogan leaves behind a legacy as the greatest-known ball striker and the second player to win all four of the major golf championships, and Byron Nelson is known for his gentlemanly conduct (leading to the nickname "Lord Byron") and an unbeaten 11-tournament streak with 18 total wins in 1945.
Follow these golfing stars from their early days in the sport to their successful pro careers, and meet the people behind the legends.


Audible Editor Reviews

Ben Hogan and Byron Nelson are undeniable legends in the history of golf, but Jeff Miller's Grown at Glen Garden studies their careers from a less-known starting point: their shared hometown. Noted voice actor Liam O'Brien tackles the histories of these two very different men with aplomb, tracking them from their early beginnings in 1920s Fort Worth to their struggles and successes on the professional circuit. Throughout, O'Brien's upbeat tone and engaging manner draws the listener in, creating a warm and fascinating portrait of these two skilled sportsmen.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Great story but a bit spoiled by the miss pronunciation of Jimmy Demaret. Apart from this it was very interesting
Read full review

- Chris

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-02-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios