Tuffers' Alternative Guide to the Ashes

  • by Phil Tufnell
  • Narrated by Phil Tufnell, Jonathan Keeble
  • 8 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this hilarious follow-up to the Sunday Times best seller Tuffers' Cricket Tales, ex-England cricketer, TV personality and Test Match Special commentator Phil Tufnell offers his unique take on the whole Ashes experience. Drawing on incidents from his own colourful career and the reminiscences of great English and Aussie cricket characters, both past and present, Tuffers highlights all the elements that make for a truly memorable Ashes series, on and off the pitch.
Heroic performances, personal ‘Cat-astrophes', bonkers selections, cultural clashes between Poms and Ockers, slanderous sledges, dubious tactics, odd superstitions, touring high jinks and nail-biting finishes are all on the agenda as he delves into the 131-year history of a unique sporting institution. Along the way, Tuffers, who played in five Ashes series without ever getting close to getting his hands on the famous urn, aims to discover the key to winning what is the ultimate prize for any English or Australian cricketer.
Shot through with his love and knowledge of cricket, Tuffers' Alternative Guide to the Ashes is written with the characteristic cheeky charm which made Phil Tufnell a firm favourite of England's Barmy Army (and a target for good-natured abuse from fans Down Under).


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great content - poor delivery

Bought this after enjoying Tuffers Tales so much. Unfortunately this audiobook, although it has Tuffers down as co-narrator only has him narrating the foreword and really is let down by a mockney style cross between Bob Hoskins and Dick Van Dyke narration of Jonathan Keeble doing everything else. Engaging set of facts and anecdotes from every era of the Ashes and would have been perfect in paper form but in the Audio Format it suffers due to poor selection of the narrator.
Read full review

- Timbo

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-05-2013
  • Publisher: Headline Digital