Summary

"Outside the sun shines. Buses rumble towards Ealing Broadway and I'm expected to do battle with the powers of darkness. It all seems a little unfair..." You could say it all started with the red-eyed tramp with the slimy fingers who put the wind up Neville, the part-time barman, something rotten. Or when Archroy's wife swapped his trusty Morris Minor for five magic beans while he was out at the rubber factory.
On the other hand, you could say it all started a lot earlier. Like 450 years ago, when Borgias walked the earth.
Pooley and Ornally, stars of the Brentford Labour Exchange and the Flying Swan, want nothing to do with it, especially if there's a Yankee and a pint of Large in the offing. Pope Alexander VI, last of the Borgias, has other ideas.
©SmartPass Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Superb! A totally brilliant way to revise" ( Daily Express)
"A wealth of useful material." ( Times Educational Supplement)
"Refreshing¿ clear and lively¿ a stimulating study aid." ( Sunday Times)
"Impressive teaching and study aid." ( SNIP Magazine)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £17.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £17.50

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By John on 12-07-09

The Anti-pope

The book is in the vein of Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett but in the occult rather than sci-fi or fantasy. A friend recommended this book a long time ago and I never got around to getting a copy. Browsing audible I saw it and thought I would give it a try. It was an excellent choice on my part, which shows I do make some occasionally. It is well written and superbly read, with wry, dry humour and characters that don't just live but are likeable, and I really wanted to see how it would pan out. I subsequently got 'Hollow chocolate bunnies of the apocalypse' which I also enjoyed. In a publishing world where clones of success swarm, Rankin and his work stand apart. You get the idea that he is a genuine story teller who wants about all to entertain, which certainly does. The only negative comment is that none of the rest of the series are available on audible. If they do become available I will be the first to buy.

Read more Hide me

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By David on 06-12-13

Best Dressed Shaggy Dog in Show

I tried reading this several years ago, and got nowhere.
But this audio version was a joy. Unusually for an Audiobook - it benefitted from being read by the author. He has a great use of language and I don't know that anyone else would do it justice.
What's really special about this audiobook is that although it's a full and unabridged transcription, every bit of dialogue is acted out, by actors who sound fully engaged in what they are doing.
It was a real pleasure.
OK, some of the story is showing its age now, and some of the sound effects were a bit jarring, but it's well worth a credit to get such a well polished production.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Jessica on 28-02-09

Fun and silly

A hilarious parody of Lovecraftian horror. The humor is whimsical, over-the-top, and very British. Would've given it five stars if not for the overuse of sound effects; those got pretty irritating after a while, but certainly weren't bad enough to keep me from enjoying the rest. The voice acting was delightful.

Read more Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Jamie on 30-06-09

Another good Rankin.

This was a really good listen. Strange and quite silly in parts. Particularly like the cowboy theme night.

Clearly read, acted and so on. Very good and very funny.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews