• The Bone Sparrow

  • A Refugee Novel
  • By: Zana Fraillon
  • Narrated by: Gareth Locke
  • Length: 4 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 03-11-16
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.2 (15 ratings)

Summary

Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction prize 2016.
Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.
This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home.
Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.
Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.
©2016 Zana Fraillon (P)2016 Orion Children's Group
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"...a special book." (Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed Once series)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £9.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £9.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By s on 10-06-17

You must listen to this story.

Thought provoking. Deals with the very relevant issue of refugees. There but for the grace of God go I. It shows how we can learn so much from children, their love and acceptance breaks down barriers.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Mrs on 04-01-18

a refugee story of fantasy and truth

Based on real refugee camp accounts in Australia. The story carries the tale of dreamlike hope and survival despite the inhuman treatment of some of the most traumatised and vulnerable people in the current crisis.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 24-05-18

Amazing story and narration

The story is captivating and the narration really captures the mood and feel. As I was listening I also was following the story in my book, and noticed some words were either left out or added, therefore only four stars.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews