Summary

A thriller set in the dark underbelly of Europe, perfect for fans of I Am Pilgrim.
Into the darkness they fall....
Tarifa, Spain. A man's body washes up on the beach. No-one seems to care.
Patrick Cornwall is a highly acclaimed investigative journalist. His latest project: to uncover the plight of migrants trying to start new lives in Europe and to expose the corruption that runs to the highest levels of society.
Patrick's wife, Ally, is used to Patrick being out of contact. But she's just discovered she's pregnant, and she must track him down. Unable to reach him and starting to worry, she flies across the ocean to get answers.
Still unable to find him, Ally delves into the secrets Patrick was determined to expose and is drawn into an ever-deadlier web. Because in the dark underbelly of Europe, where lives are cheap, the perpetrators will stop at nothing to keep their sins hidden and their victims forgotten....
©2009 Tove Alsterdal, by agreement with Grand Agency; Translation copyright © Tiina Nunnally 2016 (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Without a doubt, she is one of our best crime writers right now. Or rather, in short, one of the best writers right now." (Gunilla Wedding, Norra Skåne)
"Has all the characteristics of the Scandinavian crime novel - the suspense, the literary quality, the critical view on society - but with a global perspective. The Swedish critics are right: this is an international thriller of the highest standard." (Liza Marklund)
"A captivating debut!" (Der Standard, Germany)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £13.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
No Reviews are Available