Summary

Number one international best seller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedström and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. 
A missing child. 
When a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods just outside Fjällbacka, the community is horror-struck. Thirty years ago a young girl went missing from the exact same spot and was later discovered murdered. 
A murder. 
Back then two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could it really be a coincidence that one of the girls - now a world-famous actress - has just returned to Fjällbacka? Detective Patrik Hedström starts investigating with his wife, best-selling crime writer Erica Falck, by his side. 
A community torn apart. 
But as Patrik and Erica dig deeper, the truth becomes ever murkier, because it seems that everyone in the tight-knit community is hiding something. And soon the residents must confront the fact that they could be harbouring a murderer in their midst.... 
©2018 Camilla Lackberg (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

Praise for Camilla Lackberg: "Domesticity and brutality are Lackberg staples.... Tightly plotted.... Unflinching." (Sunday Times)
"Heart-stopping and heart-warming...a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing." (Val McDermid)
"The rock star of Nordic Noir." (The Independent)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £18.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By NMcD on 14-09-18

gripping, sad, emotional, beautifully written

This was a very well written book of complex relationships, injustice and consequences cleverly written and twists and turns and delivered beautifully by the performer in a most chilling and heart rendering way. It took me a chapter or two to settle in as there is Much going on but when the foundation was set I was hooked.

Read more Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By craft addict on 05-05-18

great story

Loved the story but I found the performance made it rather tiresome to follow. It was too monotonous and didn't do the story any justice.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By T Jones on 26-08-18

New narrator, new pronunciations. Not good.

I've really enjoyed this series over-all, so I was disappointed to discover that this narrator pronounces the names of the two main characters differently to how they had been known in all the other books. It was disconcerting and pulled my focus out of the story.
The book was probably not as good as some of the others in the series. There are three time lines which the story flips between. Sometimes this can make it a bit hard to keep track, especially in the first few hours of the book, while you are still remembering who all the characters are. Personally I found the storyline set in historic Sweden to be unnecessary to the book. However, even say this, I did enjoy the book as a whole.
I would like to continue the series as more books are released, but I REALLY hope that the producers revert to one of the previous narrators. It might be a deal breaker.

Read more Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 17-04-18

One of the best!

I enjoied every word of it! Longer than the other books but passionate. I like the alternance between the normal life of the small community and the psychological tensions hidden behind this normal life.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews