Summary

For fans of True Detective and Making A Murderer, The Killing Season is a true crime saga, the story of a double murder that went unsolved for more than 35 years, and a chilling portrait of a small town upended by unimaginable violence.
In the summer of 1975, the sprawling valley town of Grand Junction, Colorado, is stunned by the grisly double murders of 24-year-old Linda Benson and her baby daughter Kelley. For Jim Fromm and Doug Rushing, the two young detectives assigned to the case, the investigation is a chance to earn their stripes and prove their mettle. At first, Fromm and Rushing peg the woman's mercurial husband, a pipe-fitter who works outside of town, as the primary suspect. But as their case against Steve Benson unravels, the detectives find themselves short on leads - and running out of time. With the city on edge and anxious for answers, a notorious serial killer goes on the lam, and yet another young woman and her children turn up dead.
In The Killing Season, acclaimed journalist Alex French traces the story of the Benson murders from the night Linda and Kelley's bodies are found strewn across their second floor apartment, to an improbable discovery, made more than 30 years later, that enabled a new breed of detectives to crack the case and bring closure to those who'd watched justice slip away. Writing in taut, atmospheric prose, French has crafted a heart-pounding tale of tragedy, resilience, and redemption - set against the burning-red vistas of the American Southwest.
Alex French is a freelance journalist. His reportage and oral histories have appeared in the New York Times Magazine, BuzzReads, GQ, New York Magazine, Grantland, This American Life, and a variety of other venues. He lives in Monmouth County, New Jersey, with his wife and two children.
©2016 Alex French (P)2016 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £2.89

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £2.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Suswati on 20-04-17

Good for true crime podcast lovers

This is like listening to Serial or watching Making a Murderer so it's not a conventional 'book' in the slightest. It's dark and depressing and requires googling facts and context from time to time. As a true crime fan, it's appealing but it's definitely an acquired taste.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By jackie on 06-01-18

Narrator spoilt the story would give him0 if I could

I realize this is a factual account but the dry, tone less boring voice of the narrator made it a chore to listen to , far to quickly read so I had to keep rewinding to keep up with the pace of his rendition. It could have been good .

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Taresa Pflueger on 08-09-18

Book of my dreams and my nightmares

I truly enjoyed this book. The narrator was perfect and the story is so scary. I listened to it multiple times.

Perfect for a fan of true crime!

Read more Hide me
2 out of 5 stars
By Debby on 20-12-16

Boring

What disappointed you about The Killing Season?

The performer's voice had no emotion, just very dull.

What was most disappointing about Alex French’s story?

Too confusing. Jumps back and forth too much.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of David Drummond?

Someone that can change the tone and seem like he's telling a story.

What character would you cut from The Killing Season?

Ted Bundy? I didn't even know he was in this book.

Any additional comments?

No.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews