Summary

The lifeless body sat, hands bound, silver tape over his mouth. Patches of blood had soaked into the cheap carpet around him. Zac had spent years gaining scientific insight into the mind: human motivation and behaviour. And this scene wasn't right...
It's been five years since Detective Zac Boateng's daughter was murdered, and her killer was never found. Now Zac is back working for the Metropolitan Police and is more determined than ever to bring the city's killers to justice.
When a man is found brutally murdered in a rundown south London shop, all fingers point to the highly intelligent and manipulative Darian Wallace. Two years ago, the victim helped send him to prison. And he's just been released.
Still grieving, Zac knows it will take everything he's got to catch this dangerously clever killer. But just as he feels he's getting closer, he realises all is not quite as it seems, and he makes a devastating personal discovery.
Zac has a choice to make - risk letting this killer escape or watch his daughter's murderer get away again...
An absolutely gripping thriller for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Lee Child. The Murder List is one fast-paced thriller you won't be able to put down.
©2018 Chris Merritt (P)2018 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £14.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 25-03-18

A Start of Considerable Merritt

I'm only too well aware that a single swallow doesn't make a summer so a good first book doesn't necessarily mean this will be a great series. However, with The Murder List Chris Merritt has certainly ticked all of the right boxes and could just be on the cusp of a fine career. A three book deal suggests his publishers think likewise . . . there will definitely be more to come!

His lead, Detective Zac Boateng is a man you can get right behind. A dedicated policeman, a student of the mind and a real family man trying with his wife to hold everything together after the tragic loss of his murdered daughter. Guilt and grief drive him to extremes and feed the flames of this well-paced story.

Merritt draws on his own considerable experience and knowledge having gained a double first at Oxford no less but the writing is sharp and direct. It's not burdened by theory or detail. The depth to the characters, which is considerable, comes instead by thought, action and deed. This is an author not afraid to blur the lines between good and evil, right and wrong as he delves into London gang culture with a hint of political intrigue.

Of course, when you have an audiobook involving tough characters in tough situations Damian Lynch is one of the go to narrators and he delivers with strength and his usual wide range of character voices.

The Murder List is a genuinely fine start to this series, the story forms a complete episode and sets up some potentially exciting strands for future development. I don't see detective Boateng getting an easy ride in the books to come!

Read more Hide me

19 of 20 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 02-04-18

Brilliant new detective comes to life

If you could sum up The Murder List in three words, what would they be?

Exciting, fast-moving thriller

What did you like best about this story?

I listened to this alongside the kindle version, and Damian Lynch's performance conveyed the different characters from all over south London beautifully. The writing is slick and Merritt keeps you guessing right to the end. You get totally invested in the hunt for Detective Zac Boateng's nemesis, and find yourself rooting for so many different people as the story goes on - even the bad guys....

Which scene did you most enjoy?

There are two that stand out from the Wimbledon dog track. You feel as though you're watching those greyhounds run!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Absolutely.

Any additional comments?

I'm preordering the next book in the series as soon as I can.

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Jean on 05-06-18

Engaging

I started listening to “The Murder List” right after I had surgery for a fractured ankle. I am sure the book is good, but I just could not get into it. It started off slow so that might also have been a factor.

The story was about a British police officer whose young daughter was killed in a convenience store shooting five year before. He is on the hunt for the killer. This is book one of a new series about Zac Boateng. In the future I might try to next book.

I read this as an audiobook downloaded from Audible. The book is nine and a half hours. Damian Lynch does a good job narrating the book.

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Dena Prosen on 09-04-18

NOPE

Synopsis said fast-paced, gripping thriller! NOPE, NOPE AND NOPE. seriously. I struggled to get thru it.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews