Summary

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.
It was a clear, starry night in Glacier National Park. Fourteen-year-old Ted Systead and his father were camping peacefully beneath the rugged peaks and sweeping sky when the unimaginable happened: Ted's father was mauled by a grizzly bear and dragged to his death.
Now, 20 years later, as a special agent for the Department of the Interior, Ted is called back to investigate a crime that echoes the horror of that night. Only this time the victim was tied to a tree before the animal's attack. Ted teams up with one of the park officers - a man named Monty, whose pleasant exterior masks an all-too-vivid knowledge of the area. Residents of the nearby community are less than forthcoming. Suspicious of outsiders and intimately connected to the wilderness that surrounds them, they confront their fellow man and nature with equal measures of reverence and brutality. As the days pass with no clear answers, not only is human life at stake but so too is that of a majestic creature who carries with it valuable evidence. Ted's search for truth takes him far into the wilderness, on the trail of a killer, and eventually to a shocking and unexpectedly personal conclusion.
Rich in atmosphere and evocative, lush descriptions, The Wild Inside is a gripping debut novel about the wondrously perilous intersection between man and nature.
©2015 Christine Carbo (P)2015 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £27.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £27.09

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By MAGGS on 17-11-16

The Wild Inside - an unexpected gem of a read

The Wild Inside - an unexpected gem of a read
Don't expect to enjoy this book as much as I did, really enjoyable.
Suspense book that had me fooled until the very end,
with a great taste of the great outdoors of Montana.
R C Bray a great narrator will definitely being looking out for more
books narrated by him & written by Christine Carbo

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 01-09-17

Something Refreshingly Different

Having read a lot of detective thrillers over the years I can say that this one offers something just a little different. the key difference of course is the setting which is brought to life well in Carbo's text. The juxtaposition of modern humanity with the wilderness of Glacier Park offers many interesting scenarios. Issues around tourism and ecological sustainability are in a delicate balance and are highlighted well in the text.

It brings a new life to cliched scenes from the genre such as the grisly autopsy . . . and their will be few more grisly than the one in this! When scene of crime examinations have to take into account things like the shape of bear footprints it certainly adds a little something.

Carbo has imagined an interesting lead for her stories. Ted Systead has a great backstory and his character and the others are sympathetically developed. RC Bray, perhaps showing a slightly softer side than his usual delivers the top-notch quality that I've now come to take for granted of him.

Overall though, it's not hugely fast-paced and I didn't feel a great sense of suspense. The key reason to invest in this series is that the setting and characters are just a bit different and they do add considerable interest.

Read more Hide me

6 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Sara on 18-09-15

Mystery, Thriller, Suspense & The Great Outdoors

This is a book that grabs you by the throat from the opening paragraph and doesn't let go until the last word. Narrated in a macho tough guy voice which I actually enjoyed once I got over the semi surprise of it all. Really engaging reading with perfect timing.

The story is multi dimensional, hits all the current social issues and deftly instructs the listener in an insiders view of the National Parks system and the Department of the Interior.
I love the National Parks as a visitor--but I don't know enough about the inner workings to know if the info presented here is accurate. While listening I wondered about that for about a minute and then put it out of my mind because the story was too good to waste time fussing about facts. I will say it all felt very real and believable.

I loved the sense of place the author captures in the way she presents Glacier National Park and Montana. Brutal, intense, fascinating and gruesome all wrapped up into one wild ride of a book. I join other reviewers here in saying that I hope this might end up as a new series. It was that good.

Read more Hide me

89 of 98 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By L. O. Pardue on 09-05-16

Suspenseful Listen, Very Enjoyable

Was tentative about starting this audiobook as the back-story on Special Agent Systed would be hard to listen. That sad story was well handled by the author, Christine Carbo, and narrated with real warmth and empathy by Bray.

This was actually a very suspenseful, interesting audiobook from the beginning to the end. I enjoyed how the clues and leads were followed-up logically and thoroughly. I thought I had it all figured out, but then found out I was wrong. Love it when I don't see the twist coming -- and it still makes sense.

I enjoyed the descriptions of Montana and Glacier National Park. I have added it to my "Must Travel" list.

I will be spending my valuable credit on the new book by Carbo. She is on my "Definite Author List" for up-coming books.

NOTE: There is a scene involving a veterinarian and abuse of a family animal that I did not listen for 5 minutes as it was too much for me. I was still able to keep up with the story.

Read more Hide me

20 of 22 people found this review helpful

See all reviews