Swimming with Crocodiles: A True Story of Adventure and Survival

  • by Will Chaffey
  • Narrated by John Rubinstein
  • 10 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Into the Wild, here is the riveting story of a young man seeking his own truth and finding adventure in the awesome, unforgiving power of nature. Will Chaffey is 18 when he boards a plane in New York bound for Australia. Taking time off to work and travel, Will meets an enigmatic wanderer and herpetologist. Together they cross the inland desert to the tropical northwest coast, home to the saltwater crocodile, a known man-eater and a predator who has been hunting since the age of the dinosaurs.
They devise a plan to explore the remote Prince Regent River, a trek so dangerous it had never been attempted by outsiders. Passing through harsh, primeval country, shadowed by their own exhaustion, and physically worn down, they find themselves locked in a life-and-death struggle when their food runs out and, unable to leave, they are stalked by a hungry crocodile.
Filled with scenes of great natural beauty, Swimming with Crocodiles is at once the affecting account of a journey into adulthood and a hair-raising epic of survival.


Audible Editor Reviews

Set in the wilderness of the Australian outback during the author's teenaged exploration of a remote river, Swimming with Crocodiles is one part coming-of-age tale and one part adventure story. Alongside descriptions of the author’s nuts-and-bolts struggle for survival, listeners are treated to expanded musings on life and the natural world, and fascinating tidbits of history and science. Performer John Rubinstein's dramatic delivery, combined with the author's smooth, matter-of-fact style, lends this audiobook the smooth feel of a documentary.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

nothing happens except they don't take enough food

why is this a book? it's a half hour anecdote, if you're a close friend.
Read full review

- Paul Steele

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-05-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios