Summary

The new audiobook from the author of Art in the Blood.
December 1889. Fresh from debunking a 'ghostly' hound in Dartmoor, Sherlock Holmes has returned to London, only to find himself the target of a deadly vendetta.
A beautiful client arrives with a tale of ghosts, kidnapping and dynamite on a whisky estate in Scotland, but brother Mycroft trumps all with an urgent assignment in the South of France.
On the fabled Riviera, Holmes and Watson encounter treachery, explosions, rival French detective Jean Vidocq...and a terrible discovery. This propels the duo northward to the snowy highlands. There, in a 'haunted' castle and among the copper dinosaurs of a great whisky distillery, they and their young client face mortal danger, and Holmes realizes all three cases have blended into a single deadly conundrum.
In order to solve the mystery, the ultimate rational thinker must confront a ghost from his own past. But Sherlock Holmes does not believe in ghosts...or does he?
©2017 Bonnie MacBird (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"If the original 60 Holmes stories aren't enough for you, read Bonnie MacBird's Unquiet Spirits for another dram of the Great Detective. MacBird deftly blends a series of grisly murders and dark secrets from Holmes's past into a strong brew!" (Leslie S. Klinger, editor of The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes)
"A superb Sherlockian adventure. Bonnie MacBird's take on Holmes and Watson is inventive and true to the canon, a splendid blend of fast-paced action and detection in a deliciously gothic Highland setting. I can't wait for her next book." (Dana Cameron, BSI, Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity award-winning author of the Emma Fielding mysteries)
"Pour yourself a wee dram, toss another peat on the fire, and prepare to be swept up in the great detective's Highland fling. MacBird's spooky, scholarly, thoroughly 'spirited' follow up to Art in the Blood is a triumph of voice, place, and plotting. Highly recommended for fans of Sherlock, Scotland, and whisky lovers everywhere." (Catriona McPherson, best-selling author of the multiaward-winning Dandy Gilver series)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By lucy-lou on 06-10-17

A good plot

After listening to this book, I must say I found the story as a whole very good. However I struggled with the narration. Although the narrator delivered the story clearly and with passion when needed. His voice sounded too modern.

It didn’t match with the era. An older more well spoken gentleman would have allowed me to picture Holmes in the way that I’m use to.

This is however my own opinion and I am, by now means suggesting that the narration wasn’t any good. It just made it very difficult for me to connect with the characters. Leading me not to enjoy the book as much.

Read more Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By jacqueline neal on 07-11-17

Rather a waste of time

Poor narration of a poor imitation of Conan Doyle ‘s work . I finished only because it helped to pass the time while I redecorated and it required no attention. I had solved the crime a very long time before Sherlock.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By D. R. H. on 18-10-17

Good story, but.......

The story was fine but I think the author should have made up her own characters instead of using the Sherlock Holmes characters. It was unbelievable as a Sherlock Holmes mystery. Watson and Sherlock were completely out of character from the norm in this rendition. Every time there was an opportunity to apply Sherlock’s incredible deductive capability’s, the ball was dropped and he was made to look like a fool. She even had him crying. Seriously!!!!

Read more Hide me

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By D. D. Perkins on 07-10-17

Well worth a binge listen.....

Get ready to get hooked in from page one. I couldn't put it down. Multiple plots and mysteries require both Holmes and Watson to solve. The characters are well defined by the author, and the narrator does a great job interpreting the dialogue. I'm looking forward to another work from this author.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews