Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy : Generations

  • by Scott Sigler
  • Narrated by Emma Galvin
  • Series: Generations
  • 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival.
A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief - she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust but no people and no answers.
She knows only one thing about herself - her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin. She finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they're to have any chance, she must get them to trust one another.
Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there's a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

So, So Disappointed!

What disappointed you about Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy?

I have truly loved the work of this author for years. I've followed him since he was a podcast novelist and watched his rise to bestseller with delight. I have to say I had qualms when I heard he was writing what I consider to be yet one more too many in the endless series of Hunger Games variants. Sorry, harsh words I know, but I've seen so many from the un-put-downable to the awful and this just doesn't work for me.

I didn't find anything to like in the main character, which for Sigler is very unusual. I mean, when someone like Quentin Barnes is being at his most bratty and unbearable you still can't help liking him. This kid is just bratty, and she gets more bratty as time goes on. In fact you can say the same about most of them up to the time, over half way through, when I turned off in disgust. Chances are if I haven't learned to care about the characters by then, I never will. It's such a shame. Scott's characters are what I really love usually. These were just like cartoons almost, so unlike him. I was also unhappy with the narration, but that's a matter of taste. Emma Galvin does a good job but I find her voice nasal, sharp and unpleasant to listen to.


Would you ever listen to anything by Scott Sigler again?

Oh I would certainly listen to Scott's books again! That's why I'm so vehement probably. I know he can do miles, miles better than this!


Would you be willing to try another one of Emma Galvin’s performances?

No. I really don't like her voice.


You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I'm sorry, but I'm afraid not. I do try to find something positive to say, and Scott Sigler is an author, and a person, I truly admire, but I really didn't like this at all.


Read full review

- Louise Hartgen

Winner

As a fan of sigler I was nervous as a female lead is a hard thing to get my head around as a fan but OMG Emma galvin knocked it out of the park.
This will appeal to any fan of sci fi or dystopian fiction

Nice one Scot
Read full review

- mr peter a r pryde

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-07-2015
  • Publisher: Empty Set Entertainment