And I Darken : And I Darken

  • by Kiersten White
  • Narrated by Fiona Hardingham
  • Series: And I Darken
  • 13 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This vividly rendered novel is like HBO's Game of Thrones if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story's atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's The Red Queen, Kristin Cashore's Graceling, and Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes won't want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy.
No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.
Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who's expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he's made a true friend - and Lada wonders if she's finally found someone worthy of her passion.
But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against - and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.
From New York Times best-selling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled, and hearts will be broken.

More

What the Critics Say

"Full of sword fights, assassination plots, and palace intrigues, this novel is ambitious in scope and concept and reveals a fascinating, important, and somewhat obscure slice of history...the novel is breathtakingly good." (School Library Journal)
"White deftly weaves historical fact into this complex concoction of love, war, politics, homosexuality, religion, loyalty, and friendship." (Booklist)
"A dark jewel of a story, one that gleams with fierce, cunning characters - absolutely riveting." (Alexandra Bracken, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Passenger)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Narration lacked flow but story was perfect

The narration seemed clumsy, clunky and strange. Every time a name is said it sounds like it was prerecorded so there is no flow to the narration. Her voice is a little grating but still the story was great enough that it didn't dampen too much. If the narration was changed it would have been perfect.
Lada is ruthless, fierce and a force to be reckoned with. No protagonist comes close to what Lada is and this is only the beginning.
This is a retelling of the Ottoman Empire with real people but fictional tales. Vlad the Impaler has been gender bent to Lada!
Read full review

- Georgina Hollaway

Brilliant retelling of the Vlad the Impaler story

I enjoyed this even more than I expected, it starts off a bit confusing with all the names and places, but it quickly becomes gripping and exciting. Lada is a fascinating protagonist, and an interesting twist on the original Vlad, being a teenage girl. The story starts with her as a young girl and runs until she's about 18 I think, and focuses mostly on Lada but also her brother Radu and their best friend Mehmed. It's well researched and richly detailed, seems quite accurate historically (with the exception of Lada being female and everything) and is a really interesting story. The action is relatively little, with more on the characters and their development, but the major events are exciting and tense. I would definitely recommend this if you love a book with a strong female lead, lots of history and culture, and a plenty of secret plots and assassination attempts.
Read full review

- Lyndsey T.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-06-2016
  • Publisher: Listening Library