Breathe

  • by Sarah Crossan
  • Narrated by Anna Parker-Naples
  • 8 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different?
Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.
National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe "An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can."
Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected...or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything.
Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative audiobook is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an "action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for."

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great YA Audiobook

Would you consider the audio edition of Breathe to be better than the print version?

I loved how the three main characters were brought to life in this audio version.


What other book might you compare Breathe to, and why?

Not sure that I know of any I would directly compare it to, since the Oxygen-starved community isn't a concept I have come across in YA lit before. I enjoyed the slow start and the relationships building in this novel, which was highlighted very believably by the narrator.


Have you listened to any of Anna Parker-Naples’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I haven't heard any of the narrator's work before, but I would definitely add her to my favourites list. Her accent work for various parts of the British Isles was precise and correct regionally ( a real bug-bear of mine!), and this made her work very easy to listen to, and made the characters clear and individual. I was surprised to read another review on here which criticised her Cockney accent characters - to my native ear they were Cornish and Mancunian! - she was absolutely spot on.

The three main characters were well delineated, and I enjoyed the teenage angst and frustrations set amidst life-endangering backdrop of the story. Her teenage boy voice was full of angst and insecurities, and reminded me and a friend of Simon from The InBetweeners (in a good way!)


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I listened to the book in three days, and hardly wanted to turn it off. My ten year old daughter is listening to it now too, as she kept overhearing sections of it, and couldn't get enough.


Any additional comments?

This is a fantastic novel and I am definitely going to download the second book Resist with my next credits. It was great to come across a British YA novel with a true British narrator. I loved this audiobook!!

Read full review

- Alice

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-02-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury