• by Neal Shusterman
  • Narrated by Nick Podehl, Kate Rudd, Luke Daniels, Laura Hamilton
  • 6 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Tennyson: Don’t get me started on the Bruiser. He was voted “Most Likely to Get the Death Penalty” by the entire school. He’s the kid no one knows, no one talks to, and everyone hears disturbing rumors about. So why is my sister, Brontë, dating him? One of these days she’s going to take in the wrong stray dog, and it’s not going to end well.BronteMy brother has no right to talk about Brewster that way — no right to threaten him. There’s a reason why Brewster can’t have friends — why he can’t care about too many people. Because when he cares about you, things start to happen. Impossible things that can’t be explained. I know, because they’re happening to me.
Award-winning author Neal Shusterman has crafted a chilling and unforgettable novel about the power of unconditional friendship, the complex gear workings of a family, and the sacrifices we endure for the people we love.


What the Critics Say

“The English language needs another noun: ‘a shusterman.’ It means a book that is guaranteed to grip you from beginning to end and leave you thinking about the characters for years, just like bruiser will. Buckle up and prepare for a great ride!” (Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award Finalist for Speak and Chains)
"At once dark and darkly humorous, intense and intensely satisfying, bruiser may very well be Neal Shusterman’s best novel yet. Put this one at the top of your ‘must read’ list.” (Ellen Hopkins, New York Times best- selling author of Crank)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good unpatronising YA reading

This was my second Shusterman having been completely bowled over by Challenger Deep. The writing is strong and the ideas interesting. I like the reading but didn't feel the narrators quite matched the characters, especially Brewster, but that's probably not going to be a problem for others.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-05-2011
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio