Concentr8

  • by William Sutcliffe
  • Narrated by Thomas Judd
  • 5 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a future London, Concentr8 is a prescription drug intended to help kids with ADD. Soon every troubled teen is on it. It makes sense, doesn't it? Keep the undesirable elements in line. Keep people like us safe from people like them. What's good for society is good for everyone.
Troy, Femi, Lee, Karen, and Blaze have been taking Concentr8 as long as they can remember. They're not exactly a gang, but Blaze is their leader, and Troy has always been his quiet, watchful sidekick - the only one Blaze really trusts. They're not looking for trouble, but one hot summer day, when riots break out across the city, they find it.
What makes five kids pick a man seemingly at random - a nobody, he works in the housing department, doesn't even have a good phone - hold a knife to his side, take him to a warehouse, and chain him to a radiator? They've got a hostage but don't really know what they want or why they've done it. And across the course of five tense days, with a journalist, a floppy-haired mayor, a police negotiator, and the sinister face of the pharmaceutical industry, they - and we - begin to understand why....
This is an audiobook about how we label children. It's about how kids get lost and failed by the system. It's about how politicians manipulate them. Gripping and controversial listening for fans of Malorie Blackman and Patrick Ness.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-01-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury