Conquest : The Chronicles of the Invaders

  • by John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
  • Narrated by Nicola Barber
  • Series: The Chronicles of the Invaders
  • 14 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The start of an epic new series from bestselling author John Connolly, and Jennifer Ridyard. For fans of The 5th Wave and I Am Number Four. Earth is no longer ours. It is ruled by the Illyri, a beautiful, civilised yet ruthless alien species. But humankind has not given up the fight, and Paul Kerr is one of a new generation of young Resistance leaders waging war on the invaders.
Syl Hellais is the first of the Illyri to be born on Earth. Trapped inside the walls of her father's stronghold, hated by the humans, she longs to escape. But on her sixteenth birthday, Syl's life is about to change forever. She will become an outcast, an enemy of her people, for daring to save the life of one human: Paul Kerr.
Only together do they have a chance of saving each other, and the planet they both call home. For there is a greater darkness behind the Illyri conquest of Earth, and the real invasion has not yet even begun...

More

What the Critics Say

"Densely plotted and decidedly grown-up, this is YA fiction for readers who are bored of fluff and sparkles" (SFX)
'If you enjoy exciting reads, regardless of your age, you'll enjoy this one' The Bookbag

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

hmmm

Would you try another book written by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard or narrated by Nicola Barber?

MAYBE


What could John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Not my cup of tea....this is just my opinion but I cant finish it. For me its a book for teenage girls.


Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Nicola Barber?

Nobody, Nicola has a lovely voice its probably ideal for target market?


Read full review

- martin

Really wanted to enjoy this

As far as the story goes, I enjoyed it.

However the narrator is infuriating to listen to!! I get that she is well spoken but to the point of mispronouncing words!? It spoilt it for me.
She over acts some parts to the point that I thought I was listening to a young children's book. (Which she'd be fantastic at). It made me feel like I was 5 again and it really isn't the type of book to be read to a 5 year old and I'm 30 years to old for it. Really hope the narrator of the second book is better, but you can get much worse!

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-03-2014
  • Publisher: Headline Digital