Specials : Uglies

  • by Scott Westerfeld
  • Narrated by Emily Tremaine
  • Series: Uglies
  • 9 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Special Circumstances": The words have sent chills down Tally's spine since her days as a repellent, rebellious ugly. Back then Specials were a sinister rumor - frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, breathtakingly fast. Ordinary pretties might live their whole lives without meeting a Special. But Tally's never been ordinary. And now, in the third book in the series, Tally's been turned into a Special: a superamped fighting machine, engineered to keep the uglies down and the pretties stupid. The strength, the speed, and the clarity and focus of her thinking feel better than anything Tally can remember. Most of the time. One tiny corner of her heart still remembers something more. Still, it's easy to tune that out - until Tally's offered a chance to stamp out the rebels of the New Smoke permanently. It all comes down to one last choice: listen to that tiny, faint heartbeat or carry out the mission she's programmed to complete. Either way,Tally's world will never be the same.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

As good as the rest!

It's hard to write a series and make all the books equally good but some how Westerfeld has done it!
Like with the other books in the series it took me 3 or 4 chapters to get in to, but after he got going I was hooked!
This book was my first experience with Audible, and I loved it! The one downside was I felt the narrator sounded a bit like Siri, but again after a few chapters I got over that.

A great book/series for older teens, especially if you loved Hunger Games.

If you're looking for similar titles, I'd recommend, The Hunger Games, Gone by Michael Grant (I think that's the author's name), The Maze Runner books (forgotten the author!) and Divergent by Veronica Roth (I found the main character frustrating, but I couldn't put the books down!)

A great book!
Read full review

- Jo

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-08-2015
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio