Tales from the Norse Legends

  • by Edward Ferrie
  • Narrated by Benjamin Soames
  • 2 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The tales of the Norse gods, of the giants, demons, trolls and dwarves, still have the power to fascinate more than a thousand years after they were first told. Here are the stories of the one-eyed god Odin, the all-seeing, who from his throne in Asgard the home of the gods, has to prepare for Ragnarok, the final conflict between good and evil. There are tales too of Tyr the god of war, of the cunning Loki, of Thor the mighty thunder god and a host of others. These retellings of the old tales are given extra dramatic perspective by the music of Mahler, Greig, Smetana, They come to life as never before.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


What the Critics Say

"These are 10 times more imaginative, terrifying and exciting than Greek mythology."(The Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Well read, great stories (I am very interested in Vikings and their mythology so I am biased there).
The only complaint I could have is that the book is split into just two long chapters, even though I contains 8 or more stories (didn't count), where it should just be a chapter per story.
Very engaging though!
(even if the voices make all the gods sound a little wimpy)
Read full review

- Carl Chivers

Great for light interest

Would you consider the audio edition of Tales from the Norse Legends to be better than the print version?

Enough detail to learn the awesome stories behind the Norse Legends, very well narrated - I'm very picky with voices and found this one to be very listenable

Would reccomend

Have you listened to any of Benjamin Soames’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Yes - Just as good, would listen to more by him

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Smile - very happy.

Any additional comments?

Worth it for the price.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-10-2000
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks