The Alchemyst : Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

  • by Michael Scott
  • Narrated by Denis O'Hare
  • Series: Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel
  • 10 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

He holds the secret that can end the world.The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330. Nearly 700 years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest alchemist of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life. The records show that he died in 1418. But his tomb is empty.The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects, the Book of Abraham the Mage. It's the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That's exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won't know what's happening until it's too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it. Sometimes legends are true.And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time.


What the Critics Say

"Proceeding at a breakneck pace, and populated by the likes of werewolves and vampires, the novel ends on a precipice, presumably to be picked up in volume two." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


The Alchemyst looks to be the start of a series to rival Harry Potter. The main character the famous Nicholas Flamel is one of those characters who just has to be good. You know he will come through in the end but what a page-turner. Can?t wait for the next book to go audible.
Read full review

- susie w

Great story

I have not listened to The Alchemyst yet, however both my children have listened to it over and over again. They also ordered me to get the follow up books as soon as humanly possible. Therefore this is a major hit with them, and I can therefore recommend it on that basis.
Read full review

- Keith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-05-2007
  • Publisher: Listening Library