The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl

  • by Barry Lyga
  • Narrated by Scott Brick
  • 9 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Is this my hidden Mutant Power, the ability to screw up absolutely any decent situation?" Fanboy has never had it good, but lately his sophomore year is turning out to be its own special hell. The bullies have made him their favorite target; his best (and only) friend seems headed for the dark side (sports and popularity); and his pregnant mother and the step-fascist are eagerly awaiting the birth of the alien life form known as Fanboy's new little brother or sister. Fanboy, though, has a secret: a graphic novel he's been working on without telling anyone, a graphic novel that he is convinced will lead to publication, fame, and, most important of all, a way out of the crappy little town he lives in and away from all the people who make it hell for him.When fanboy meets Kyra, a.k.a. Goth Girl, he finds an outrageous, cynical friend who shares his love of comics as well as his hatred for jocks and bullies. Fanboy can't resist someone who actually seems to understand him, and soon he finds himself willing to heed her advice - to ignore or crush anyone who stands in his way. But Kyra has secrets, too. And they could lead Fanboy to his dreams...or down a path into his own darkness.


What the Critics Say

"Plenty here to keep listeners engaged." (Publishers Weekly)
"So cool that you might want to wrap it in black fabric and have it delivered anonymously to your teenager....What a find." (Newsday)
"Fanboy's whip-smart, often hilariously sarcastic voice...adds fresh, urgent perspective to age-old questions about how young people cope with...being misunderstood as they try to discover themselves." (Booklist)


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-02-2007
  • Publisher: Listening Library