The Call of the Wild

  • by Jack London
  • Narrated by Jeff Daniels
  • 3 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Jack London’s The Call of the Wild was written in 1903, but Buck’s gripping adventure still makes for a thrilling listen more than 100 years after it was first published.
This compelling story follows the adventures of the loyal dog Buck, who is stolen from his comfortable family home and forced into the harsh life of an Alaskan sled dog. Passed from master to master, Buck embarks on an extraordinary journey that ends with his becoming the legendary leader of a wolf pack.
“To this day Jack London is the most widely read American writer in the world,” E. L. Doctorow wrote in The New York Times Book Review. Generally considered to be London’s greatest achievement, The Call of the Wild brought him international acclaim when it was published. His story of the dog Buck, who learns to survive in the bleak Yukon wilderness, is viewed by many as his symbolic autobiography. “No other popular writer of his time did any better writing than you will find in The Call of the Wild,” said H. L. Mencken.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Emotional stuff!

When you're ten years old, The Call of the Wild is a great adventure story, pure and simple. Listening to it again after all these years, with the benefit of experience (hardship, love, loss and two dogs down), it becomes far more than a nostalgic wormhole to ones' childhood.

It's a reminder of what the human race has been through, almost within two generations, to get to where it is now. It was also far more emotionally charged than I expected. It's all there; from cruelty to the deepest feelings of love and fealty imaginable to man, dog or wild animal.

I tend to listen to audiobooks whilst walking the dog and this was the first of perhaps 30 books to cause the tears to flow (in a manly way and well out of sight of any living creatures, bar my dog!).
Read full review

- jimthistle

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-05-2010
  • Publisher: Listening Library