The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia

  • by Candace Fleming
  • Narrated by Various, Kimberly Farr
  • 9 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the acclaimed author of Amelia Lost and The Lincolns comes more nonfiction at its very best - and a perfect resource for meeting Common Core standards.
Here is the riveting story of the Russian Revolution as it unfolded. When Russia’s last tsar, Nicholas II, inherited the throne in 1894, he was unprepared to do so. With their four daughters (including Anastasia) and only son, a hemophiliac, Nicholas and his reclusive wife, Alexandra, buried their heads in the sand, living a life of opulence as World War I raged outside their door and political unrest grew.
Deftly maneuvering between the lives of the Romanovs and the plight of Russia’s peasants - and their eventual uprising - Fleming offers up a fascinating portrait, complete with compelling primary-source material that brings it all to life. History doesn’t get more interesting than the story of the Romanovs.


What the Critics Say

Kirkus starred review, May 15, 2014:“A remarkable human story, told with clarity and confidence.” Publishers Weekly starred review, April 28, 2014:“A wonderful introduction to this era in Russian history and a great read for those already familiar with it.” From the Hardcover edition.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brought to tears

A wonderfully rounded and eye opening story of the Russian revolution from the Nickolas himself to the very peasants who worked the country side. A good listen for any interested in this interesting and dark piece of history.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Great introduction to Russia under Nicolas II

An interesting and informative read. I really enjoyed listening to it. would recommend to anyone wanting to find out more about the revolution, but not wanting to get too bogged down in the political intricacies of the period.
Read full review

- Lisa

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-07-2014
  • Publisher: Listening Library