The Kiss of Deception : Remnant Chronicles

  • by Mary E. Pearson
  • Narrated by Emily Rankin
  • Series: Remnant Chronicles
  • 13 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia's life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight - but she doesn't - and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom - to a prince she has never met.
On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive - and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets - even as she finds herself falling in love. The Kiss of Deceptionis the first audiobook in Mary E. Pearson's Remnant Chronicles More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This book gripped me. For once not a sobbing weak female ! Can't wait to find out more !
Read full review

- caroline

A mixture of romance and fantasy

This book is told from several different points of view, with a different narrator for each character which helps to follow the story as it's easy to get confused about who is who. I enjoyed the story overall, it was different to most of the other YA fantasy I have read as it was more heavily focused on the characters relationships and development, less on the fantastical elements of the world it is set in. The protagonist, Lia, starts off as a willful, reckless teenager, but over the course of the book she grows and matures into a strong and independent, admirable young woman. Her character development is done beautifully, and the relationships between her and the other characters, such as Pauline, also develop naturally and realistically over time. The narrators were excellent, they really brought the story to life and gave the romantic or action scenes the right tone. I will definitely listen to the sequels, hopefully there will be more about the world and history in the next book as that is what I felt was missing from this one.
Read full review

- Lyndsey T.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-10-2014
  • Publisher: Listening Library