The Owl Service

  • by Alan Garner
  • Narrated by Wayne Forester
  • 4 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

After hearing scratches in the attic, Alison discovers a dinner service covered in an intriguing floral owl pattern, and a series of events are set in motion that will change her life forever. Alison, her step-brother Roger, and Welsh boy Gwyn are forced into a cyclical replay of the tragic Welsh legend of Blodeuwedd, in which a woman is turned into an owl as a punishment for betraying her husband.
The Owl Service is a fabulous, multi-layered book of mystery and suspense, but also a contemporary musing on love, class structure and power.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

About this book

This is one of the best books by him, and my favourite.
It is based on one of the old Welsh stories, it is defiantly for older listeners, due to its deep and complex narrative. I hilly recommend it, it will leave you thinking about it for a long time after you finish it. Also it?s been made into a good TV series a long time ago, for thaws of you who really like it.
Read full review

- David

A haunting classic

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, The Owl Service is a magnificent and important work. The images and symbols in it make a lasting impression. It is utterly original and also a very good and suspenseful story.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Owl Service?

The most memorable moment of The Owl Service is the first tracing of the plate to show to Owl, in my view one of the most memorable moments in literature.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

The narration was mostly fine although I would have preferred no attempt to read in the voices of the children - it sounded silly.

Any additional comments?

Not to be written off as a children's book!

Read full review

- Úna

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-10-2008
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks